Yahari Light Novel Volume 6 – Chapter 7

BjOCzRICQAEfMtb.png large

…That took long enough.

Anyway reasons for being a week late:

1. Literally spent last weekend just catching up on the anime for Fall, I’m following at least 20~ series. Ridiculous.

2. I’ve been trying to learn how to clean because I finished scanning one of the Ponkan8 art books that came with the earlier volume. Needless to say, it’s hard. I don’t know when I’ll be able to get it done. There’s also some stuff I want to translate in them too, so I want to make it as high quality as possible. Here’s a sneak peak done by the artist of Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu:


3. Trying to figure out how I want to shuffle between the 4koma, the @comic adaption, and the light novel. Obviously the light novel is top priority, but I definitely want to churn out the other two adaptions too.

Pretty much sums the less important reasons. But more importantly…

I’m kind of in a slump, a writer’s one at that, maybe even a translating slump. I realize that my translations aren’t exactly the best thing in the world, so I’m trying to improve as much as possible. But translating isn’t as simple as translating everything literally. You can, but it just sounds bad. Obviously, liberties can be taken depending on the person, but if I’m going to do something, I want to make the most of it. So basically, I’m at a cross between how I should translate and how I should write the translations.

My goal is try to capture as much of the nuances in Japanese as possible, going as far as to keep things Japanese as much as possible if it just doesn’t work in English, but I’m just hitting a ton of writer blocks. I’m trying to write the light novel so it’s readable like an authentic book, so people don’t shrug it off as another generic light novel. But it’s hard, because I’m a terrible writer. If you’ve noticed I’ve been changing my writing style quite a bit, going from initially present tense, to past tense, to a mix of both, and now italics for internal thoughts, dialogue tags, and all that junk. I just can’t seem to find the right balance though, so it’s pretty frustrating. Then there’s the issue with word choice; quite frankly, my vocabulary is abysmal, and yes, I’m using a thesaurus. I want to avoid repetition, but that’s pretty hard too. I want to keep things simple where need be and churn up the big boy words once Hachiman gets going in his spiels, but it’s still pretty hard finding that balance. I wouldn’t want to be called out by Yukino like she did with the student council guys.

Obviously I could maybe find an editor, but I don’t think I want to do that; not yet anyway. I’ve been trying to get myself to read English books, so I can learn some more writing techniques, and that’s actually been pretty helpful so far. Japanese is still improving, and honestly, I still come across plenty of lines which are absolutely foreign to me. Maybe my day job is starting to get to me.

Anyway, that’s my rant. Not exactly a good time to be in a slump considering volume 10 is around the corner and expectations are for it to be done by December. Hopefully I get over it by then. I’m actually looking forward to rewriting volumes 7-9 once I get around to them too. PDFs won’t be out for a while. The first PDF might be volume 10 actually or maybe 6. Who knows.

Without further ado,

Volume 6, Chapter 7

Oops, I forgot to translate the end conversation between Komachi and Hachiman. That’ll be up in a few minutes, so keep refreshing the page.

13 thoughts on “Yahari Light Novel Volume 6 – Chapter 7

  1. Godspeed. It’s certainly frustrating to find the right balance between a liberal translation and a literal one; I can get behind this. (And 20+ ongoings, too, but that’s beside the point ;))

    I think, it’s telling when a translator has doubts about their work. It’s a sign of a good translator. Don’t worry, we see your struggles, we appreciate you for your dedication, and we most certainly support you.

  2. using thesaurus is problematic that much i do understand, so focusing on building vocabulary more is going to help you i guess….. efficient way huh? well interact with people who have really amazing vocab, there are many people for ‘me’ & i hope you have some too😉. I’ve once tried listing out the words i don’t know the proper meaning of, i’ve read from editorial section of newspaper, on a sheet and read them every day out-loud (yea first few day’s i looked like a oaf to myself) but i think it helped a little at-least if nothing. There are many books for vocab building too so try them if you have enuf time (reading them makes you conscious of your vocab so yep they help you damn lot). Last but not the least, you’ll be really good at what you’re doing some ‘day’, i just hope you’ll work hard, for that day to come early. Practice broda…….a lot =D

    Thanks for the chapter ~

  3. For improving language, I have actually found that re-reading is much more useful than “reading”, are there books that you once read and particularly liked still in your head? Revisiting them always nets unusual results from a literary sense, and it’s good to explore things that one missed at the time or thought that understood, but didn’t. The idea is, of course, books that aren’t fresh in one’s memory but rather that are years behind our current selves (I saved most of my school essays for that purpose, as a “history tracker”, heh).

    Sticking to authors also helps.

    • Admittedly, I didn’t read a single book in college. I think my actual last novel I read was some Shakespearian play in my English class in high school, haha.

      That said, you’re right. My writing right now is reflective of what I’ve read so far, but I do feel like I’m missing something. Maybe I’ll go hit up Animal Farm again or something.

  4. Man…can’t really say what would be the best for helping you improve since i’m not that much into reading, but I want to say I’ve never seen a translator as passionate as you, your translations might not be that good for you but for me(and Orgairu’s fandom I believe) they convey what’s necessary to convey, not saying you should stay at that level, always keep improving but don’t shoot yourself while doing it.

    Believe it, you’ve done more than we deserve(which is actually nothing lol). The best for you.🙂

    P.S. The illustration by Twintails artist killed me, just when I thought those two couldn’t get more beautiful…

  5. When I am in a translator slump, happens especially during long periods of stress, I just stop translating anything at all, and do something else for a while until I find the energy or motivation to continue. I think your translations are pretty good though, but I know the feeling of not being able to convey the right nuance etc. through the translation.

    Try to forget about your obligations and just relax a bit, take a break man, clap yourself on the shoulder, you certainly have deserved it for all your work.

  6. I know how hard translation is and I admire and appreciate your work so far. (I also love this series). Your writing is not bad at all, but I understand the desire to improve. That’s never going to go away, particularly if you have a career or serious hobby in writing.

    One useful writing exercise is to just transcribe a text with a style you like. As you go, you’ll find yourself automatically analyzing the grammar, structure, word choices and so on, which gives you a great feel for the nuts and bolts of the trade, much more than merely reading the same text.

    Editor/beta readers are also great, if only to have an extra pair of eyes looking for obvious mistakes, but I understand this is a very personal project and you might not want to involve someone else.

    In short, thank you so much for translating this great series. Of course your readers would all love to get new chapters as fast as possible, but we’ll understand if you need to slow down or take a break once in a while, and we’ll be very grateful for what you do translate for us.

Leave a Reply

